C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

new clutch/no start

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2015, 08:47 AM
chancey
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new clutch/no start

I pulled and replaced the clutch in my 90 c4 l98 w/six speed manual.now my car wont start.i thought it was the battery so I charged it to a full charge and now it TURNS but wont start and at times if I turn it long enough I hesr somev rsther loud clanging like something that's turning is thrown off baslance or something.im at a loss here this is my first corvette and I'm new to them in general.could it be something jammed up in side the housing or in my treansmission?i checked the obd but it just gives me a code twelve as usual.any thoughts?I NEED YOUR HELP.also so you know I did a dual mass to single mass conversion.flywheel(single mass) disk,pressure plateand release bearing.i purchased the kit thru ecklers.thank you.
Old 12-01-2015, 10:49 AM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

Received 2,259 Likes on 2,022 Posts

I'd think that maybe you need to check and confirm the starter pinion to the ring gear fitment after having the starter bench checked at a local AP store or shop.

Have you tried to push start the car?

This was a DIY install or a "for hire" install? I assumed DIY since you posted here. Were there any concerns/questions that you might have had during the install?
Old 12-01-2015, 09:27 PM
chancey
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by WVZR-1
I'd think that maybe you need to check and confirm the starter pinion to the ring gear fitment after having the starter bench checked at a local AP store or shop.

Have you tried to push start the car?

This was a DIY install or a "for hire" install? I assumed DIY since you posted here. Were there any concerns/questions that you might have had during the install?