Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

GMAH24 wiring for aftermarket stereo on 08 C6 Onstar/No Bose

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2008, 02:30 AM
socal28
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default GMAH24 wiring for aftermarket stereo on 08 C6 Onstar/No Bose

Hi,
I'm planning to install an aftermarket 5.1/stereo system in my 08 C6 Onstar/No Bose.
I'll be replacing the head unit, all speakers and adding amps and a sub. I'm going to attempt the install myself. I'm new to the Vette audio install, but not to stereo installation overall (have done my previous Civic 3 times and Accord twice).
My main objective is to not cut any factory wiring as I'll need to return this car back to stock when the lease is up (yeah, I know...PITA).

My first and foremost confusion is wiring the Peripheral GMAH24 (w/ GMAHCM) to the stock wiring with aftermarket stereo. I believe I have the right adapter/harness to retain Onstar with chimes (no Bose). Looking at the instructions from the GMAH24, I'm a bit confused on where the Onstar sound will come from once this is installed with the aftermarket system. I've done some search in this forum and browsed through the C6 Audio FAQ. I saw some threads that I need to solder RCA plugs to the speaker wires on the GMAH24 and some threads where it does not mention anything of this.

Looking at the GMAH24 instructions of using this with an aftermarket amp and speakers, I don't see where the Onstar sound will come from if you cut the speakers wires from the GMAH24 unit to factory harness and wire directly from amp to new speakers. Do I need another set of "external speakers" (in addition to F,R,C,S) just to wire the Onstar sound? Wires in question are "white & white/blk" and "gray & gray/blk".
As a note, I'll be installing a full 5.1 system which will utilize F,R,C and sub powered by my own amps.