Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Just bought a corvette with no audio Bose/aftermarket radio

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2014, 02:32 PM
LSMAC
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Just bought a corvette with no audio Bose/aftermarket radio

I have the kenwood dnx9980HD nav unit. When I cut the car on I get no sound from the speakers at all. No chimes, beeps or anything. I don't get any sound from the speakers at all. I would appreciate any help from you guys. I try to always research before I post a help thread anywhere. I am a rookie with electronics.

When I bought the car 2005 Base, the owner said that the system worked fine until he changed a starter recently because the radio kept draining the battery (he didn't change the battery first i'm assuming). So far I have purchased a new amp assumiing after researching for days that I just suffered the common overheated amp issue. That wasn't the case, so now I have to figure out the real issue. I am not fluent with electronics much at all!! I bought a digital multimeter and don't really know how to use that either but I will do some research and figure it out.

Do I need to pull the radio console apart and get behind the radio?

Where do I need to look at to see the speaker's trigger wire? Where is the central junction (I imagine there is a wire that comes out of the amp that power the speakers or something)

My multimeter is a innova 3306, is anyone familiar with this model?

Thanks in advance guys.

Last edited by LSMAC; 12-17-2014 at 02:46 PM.
Old 12-18-2014, 08:11 AM
1bdvet
Team Owner

Received 4,504 Likes on 3,589 Posts
U.S. Air Force
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor