Audio/Electronics Stereo System Installation Info, Amplifiers, Subwoofers, Radar Detectors, Police Scanners, and CB Radios for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

C4 rear storage compartment sub.....

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 09:25 PM
ron92Z07
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C4 rear storage compartment sub.....

Ok, I am thinking of installing a 10" sub in the rear storage compartment of my 92 vette and have a couple of questions. First, how should I treat the inside of the compartment? I would like to use the inside as the sub enclosure but figured it would be best to treat the entire compartment with something. Should I just apply fiberglass to the entire compartment and then make a 3/4" MDF mount on top for the sub?
I was looking at a 10" Image Dynamics sub and will be using 2 channels of a US Acoustics USB4065 to power it. I think that gives the sub 160 watts when bridged mono. Is that enough power for this sub? Also, I am pretty new to the new DVC subs. Would I want a dual 4 ohm since I am running 4 ohm mono from the amp? Anywhere I can read about and learn about the DVC type of subs?
Thanks,
Ron
Old 04-07-2004, 09:42 PM
Preacher
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In IV Veteran
Default Re: C4 rear storage compartment sub..... (chrisron)

I am running an 8" sub in that compartment and I haven't treated it at all... I should though. The advice I got was to put a good layer of fibreglass on the bottom side of the compartment to strengthen it.

I used 3/4" mdf and foam to seal the compartment and am running it on an US Acoustics 2100. I have the same 4065 you do and am using it to run the 4 new speakers that replaced the bose units.

Kale is the stereo guru here and he told me to get the dual 4 ohm speaker... so I did.

Hope that helps a little.

The speaker grill is now black....
Old 04-08-2004, 10:53 PM
bogus
Team Owner

Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts