Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Advice for the Track

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2006, 05:29 AM
C6-Stingray
Burning Brakes

Received 24 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Need Advice for the Track

Hi this is my first time in my vette on the track and my stock Z51 rear tires with 10K miles on them are on the end of their life span.

I thought it would be a bad Idea to buy brand new tires and then beat the hell out of them on the track, so I just thought I kill my current runflats on the track and then change tires afterwards.

since I dont have much grip in my rears I thought I might track it with a full tank of gas so the extra weight on the rear would give me extra traction.

But what tire pressure should I go with for better grip on these worn out tires?

Thanx
Old 11-16-2006, 06:41 AM
AFVETTE
Team Owner

Received 41 Likes on 28 Posts

When you say track do you mean 1/4 or road course. That will impact responses. I'm a road course guy and your used SC F1's would be perfect in that enviroment (similar to shaved track tires). And on a road course I always run with a full tank.

The 1/4 guys will chime in shorthly I'm sure.

Tom
Old 11-16-2006, 07:48 AM
shurite44
Le Mans Master

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

The Z51 tires are not bad for drag racing especially at stock HP levels. I heat them up a little but at my track you have to drive through the water box.

I run 24 in the rear and leave the fronts at 30.
Old 11-16-2006, 09:17 AM
toolman44092
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Shaved track tires and street tires that are balding aren't the same thing. I think you'll find that the used up street tires won't provide you much grip, but I understand why you're using them.
Old 11-16-2006, 10:03 AM
FasterIsBetter
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by toolman44092