Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you learn how to use adjustable shocks?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 09:06 AM
VetteDrmr
Le Mans Master

Received 1,397 Likes on 749 Posts

Default How do you learn how to use adjustable shocks?

With all the talk about single and double adjustable shocks, like many things, I begin to wonder if they would help me in my autocross events?

Well, the obvious answer is "Duh, of course!" But that assumes I know *how* to adjust them; something I've never seen discussed anywhere, in print, on the web, etc.

Chris Ingle, and many others, makes a great point about not modding the car while learning how to drive. I've been doing this for about 5 years now (feels like I'm still a newbie), and I'm just beginning to think about mods.

Anyway, last year I upgraded from Z51 to '04 Z06 shocks, and while the car seemed to handle a bounce better, I'd be hard pressed to tell you what made the difference. Better shock design or just less worn out shocks?

So, how do you learn? Surely there's got to be something better than just trial and error. If that's the case, I'm just going to stick with either the '04 Z06 or Bilstein Sport shocks and lessen the number of variables by about 16 (figuring that's how many ways I could screw up a shock adjustment).

TIA, and have a good one,
Mike
Old 01-04-2007, 11:07 AM
acrace
Drifting

Received 215 Likes on 153 Posts

http://www.bimmerhaus.com/tech/shocktuningTN.html

http://www.farnorthracing.com/
Go to the "Tech" link and then to the "Autocross to Win" link.

http://www.grassrootsmotorsports.com/
Go to the archives link and look up "Shocking Behavior" for their shock article.