Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HPDE setup

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2007, 07:30 PM
colonboy14
Advanced

Location: University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPDE setup

Hey everyone, I recently sold my 3rd gen F body and got a 94 Vette with the FX3 suspension. I had a VERY aggressive street suspension on the F body, and the vette suspension just feels too soft, especially on acceleleration and braking. I was wondering if the ZO7 springs and bars would give me a more "connected" feel with the road. I'm not looking to make this car into an all-out race car, but it definately needs a firmer suspension.

I would like to try and use factory parts, as I am a poor college student and can't afford the $300 VB&P aftermarket springs, much less coilovers.
Old 01-07-2007, 09:26 PM
Race Prepared
Burning Brakes

Received 78 Likes on 53 Posts

You could use Z07 sway bars & springs but they are sometimes difficult to locate used. Vette Brake Products sells sway bars, you might try the 32mm front & 26mm rear with the extreme or sport springs depending on your requirements. When installing the springs, you should consider lowering the car, VBP offers a lowering kit. The FX3 shocks can be sent back to Bilstein & revalved for autocross. You can also purchase the custom autocross controller for better shock control.
Old 01-07-2007, 09:43 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

I would start with installing a set of polyurethane bushing in the sway bars and end links that are on the car. That will help to flatten the car a bit but not stiffen the ride for the street.