Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advise on racemotor care

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2007, 07:58 PM
speedj2
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advise on racemotor care

I'm hoping to get some pearls on racemotor care from both a mechanical standpoint as well as from a drivers perspective.

I'm fairly new to high horsepower roadracing and have had more than my share of broken parts. I'm starting to wonder if it is my design and set-up that's flawed, or if it's my driving.

Is a 400 sbc too large a stroke to rev consistently to 7400... over a 30 min race?

How long can you keep the motor at or near redline?

Is a large mechanical roller camshaft just too hard on the valvetrain to allow a motor to last over the course of a season? (approx 10 30 min races, 20 20min warm up sessions.

Are there any driving techiques that might help the equipement last? Presently, I've gotten beond banging the gears or stabbing the throttle. I do think that I'm staying reasonably with-in the rev limit, perhaps exceeding the limit at the end of a long straight stretch by 1-200 revs, ... unknown about the downshift though...

Is feathering off the throttle near the end of a long straight, (after you've hit redline), better than keeping your foot into it for another second or two?

thx for your perspectives. cj

Too me, it seems that my engine is running at or near red-line for too long. Can a SBC reliably do this?
Old 01-19-2007, 11:21 PM
Slalom4me
Le Mans Master

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Respondants might consider posting to the OP's existing thread
over in C4 Tech to keep everything together.

Advice on care of racemotor

Old 01-20-2007, 07:21 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

Speedj what gears are you running??
Old 01-21-2007, 02:14 AM
DREGSZ
Melting Slicks