Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why not buy a T-1 car?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 10:40 AM
Lancer033
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Why not buy a T-1 car?

I've been AutoXing and doing track days for 3 years now with a mostly stock C5 coupe and have been wanting a little more performance out of it so I've got this great idea for how to modify it to be the ultimate track rat, but I keep thinking that when it's all done, I'll have a chopped up C5, that would be a blast for track days but not worth much else, so my plan has just sat as a file on the computer waiting on me to make up my mind

on the other hand, I could just put it back to stock, do a little paint work, sell it and buy a T-1 C5, have a car that's sorted out and ready to go and just drive the wheels off it. It'd be legal for ASP autoX (previously I was thinking either SM2 or XP) and I could use it for NASA TT and maybe eventually T1 or and equavelant NASA class.

I've got a reliable (knock on wood) daily driver, so that's not a problem and the only time I use the vette on the street is for occasional weekend fun which I don't see why I could still do that in a T-1 car.
Old 02-13-2007, 10:55 AM
rasrboy
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

That would be your best bet to do. Put the old C5 back to street and sell it and buy a Sorted T1 car. They are much cheaper to buy done than to try and build one yourself. I bought Jeff Robbins 2003 T1 Z06 and I can use it for SCCA,NASA,NCCC and what ever else I want.
Old 02-13-2007, 11:06 AM
wtknght1
Melting Slicks

Absolutely - buy one that's already been done. You'll save a ton of money and hassle and have a road course rocket that's reliable and relatively easy to work on.

Come on into T1 with us...we'd love to have you!
Old 02-13-2007, 12:46 PM
Falcon
Le Mans Master