Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to NASA

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2007, 11:50 AM
The Panther
Burning Brakes

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Default New to NASA

I was thinking about going to a NASA event, but I have zero experience. I have read a lot about it on the forum and website. Is this something worth doing even if I am a novice? If there are topics about this already please give me the links.

Thanks
Old 03-20-2007, 12:09 PM
MattB
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Very much so, the NASA HPDE program is designed for the novice. I started last year as a complete novice, had never even ran a 1/4 mile or Autox. Its a blast. NASA has you with an instructor in YOUR car in goup 1, down load sessions after each run and time for the instructor to spend one-on-one with you. Also, you can usually talk the instructor into taking you for a ride so you can see what the track looks like at speed and how it actually feels.

I'm sure some one on the board here is in your region and can give you more specifics.

Do it sooner than latter, because you will have a blast
Old 03-20-2007, 12:15 PM
JLMounce
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Don't hesitate to get on-board with NASA. They're organization is safety oriented and most people will tell you they are not nearly as hard headed as the SCCA.

This is my second season with NASA and it's by far the greatest enthusiest activity I've ever involved myself in.
Old 03-20-2007, 12:27 PM
Akcelr8 N VA
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

NASA Southeast (NASA-SE) has a fantastic group of folks and an excellent program. I HIGHLY recommend joining. You'll be amazed at how much you learn after just one weekend. That's the good news...the bad news is that you'll probably be "hooked' and your life will never be the same!!!