Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Difference in set up of your Vette for auto cross vs road racing?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2007, 09:20 PM
steve40th
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03 & '05

Default Difference in set up of your Vette for auto cross vs road racing?

Being a Novice, I am still just learning how to drive my C4. So far my tires are my limiting factor. But, my tires aren't rolling over, they are right on the edge of the tread block, according to my chalk I left on there.
But, to autocross you need a special alignment to handle quick turning etc, correct. And quick breaking.
And with road racing, you need a good stiff suspension but not to aggressive alignment as you need to have rubber flat on the ground on long straights etc, as you don't want to have too much camber and be riding on the edge of your tire, IMHO.
So, what can you do to really improve in autocross. Camber Camber Camber? Toe it out in front and toe in in the back? I don't know.
But if your tires are horrible, wheres the benefit? What if your springs are weak, and your shocks are average. What can you do to improve the Vette?
Old 03-29-2007, 11:01 PM
63Corvette
Le Mans Master

Received 283 Likes on 199 Posts

THE guy you want to connect with is RAftRAcer.

I am no expert on this, my opinion would be to spend your money on (R compound) tires first,and then seat time.

In general, autocross requires quick transitions, while not allowing enough time to properly heat the tires to optimum temperatures, vs road racing requirements for acceleration, braking, and steady state cornering. The first requirements for racing would be....cooling systems for engine, brakes and trans, brake pads, tires, and seat time.
Your results may differ;-)
Old 03-30-2007, 12:24 AM
robvuk
Le Mans Master