Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Pics of 4th gen RR cars?

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2007, 02:40 PM
SPANKY LS1
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Pics of 4th gen RR cars?

Anyone still racing the "lowly" C4, lol? Got any pics?

I am a newbie to HPDEs, and am contemplating building a weekend racer, and obviously a C4 would be the most reasonable way (financially) to get into this.

Do the C5s and C6s have any inherent advantages over the C4 cars when considering this, such as suspension design, parts availability, etc etc?

Anything other, specifically, to consider when looking for a "project" car?

Thanks, Shawn
Old 05-06-2007, 05:11 PM
0Paul Ruggeri
Former Vendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hi Shawn,
See picture on the left. This is me at Thunderhill in my 86. I use it for HPDEs. Are C5s and C6s superior? Yes. They have better handling, HP and brakes. But, you can get a C4 much cheaper. There's nothing inherenty wrong with C4s, they're just older technology. If you're buying one, look for the lowest milage Z51 you can afford. This will give you a good foundation for a track car. These cars are a lot of fun on the track and easy to modify. The problem is if you want to compete with C5s and C6s you'll be at a real disadvantage.

Have fun, Paul
Old 05-06-2007, 05:27 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 372 Likes on 308 Posts

Here is a picture of mine at Road America:

I have some video up here to of Road America:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...05903045&hl=en