Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking about switching to Castrol SRF...?'s

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2007, 01:30 PM
cj68
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Thinking about switching to Castrol SRF...?'s

I am an imtermediate/novice driver and plan to be signed off to the advanced run groups some time this season. I plan on doing 5-6 HPDEs this year.

In the past I have used ATE brake fluid and have been religious about having it done at the dealership with a Tech II bleed. The bleed runs me about $90 plus the $20 for 2 cans of fluid. I know that SRF is a lot more expensive and overkill for my ability level, but if I were to have it put in next week with a Tech II bleed, will it last me through October and 6 HPDEs?

I would like to just have the fluid put in and not have to worry about it, and only bleed if the brakes feel soft or fade. I think it would probably be a wash in expense, since I would not have to do as many fluid changes.

Am I dreaming here, or is it possible for me to save myself some time, hassle, and money by stepping up to SRF?

cj
Old 05-10-2007, 02:00 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 372 Likes on 308 Posts

Using the SRF all season should be fine. I spot bleed after each day, a pump or two from each caliper. I would not spend the money for the Tech II. The SRF has such a high wet boil that you could leave it in year round and the spot bleeds would keep it fresh.
Old 05-10-2007, 02:13 PM
cj68
Pro

Originally Posted by Aardwolf
Using the SRF all season should be fine. I spot bleed after each day, a pump or two from each caliper. I would not spend the money for the Tech II. The SRF has such a high wet boil that you could leave it in year round and the spot bleeds would keep it fresh.