Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New race trailer/how to finish inside

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2007, 11:08 PM
Cbntmn
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New race trailer/how to finish inside

Guys,

Purchased a 24' pace last week. Looking to finish the inside of the trailer and wanted some input.

Im pretty set on cabinets/tire racks. Im a cabinet guy by trade but im still going to order metal trailer cabinets for the front and a couple small long ones on the side. 8' tire rack going on the side also above the car.

THe trailer is finished with the white smooth paneling on the ceiling, but the standard plywood floor and walls.

My first thought was to checkerboard the floor with a heavy vinyl flooring.

Then I thought about doing a grey garage floor paint/heavy duty stuff. Walls also the same color.

OR i can get the white material and re sheet the walls to match the cieling.

I was thinking about diamond plating the flip down rear door, but i think ill do whatever i do on the interior floor.

I will be adding lighting along the ceiling, a small generator to run the lights, a fan, and my computer for the data AQ.

Any other ideas guys?
Old 05-23-2007, 12:21 AM
Gary2KC5
Le Mans Master

Received 38 Likes on 17 Posts

I would carefully place cabinets/tire racks, etc. to not add too much tongue weight.

don't to the vinyl checkered floor you will not like it after it gets some wear and tear. Also if you diamond plate, get the thin stuff. it's easier to work with and it weighs less. Be prepared to bring your oven mits along to close the door on those hot sunny days. And don't even think about jumping in to tie the car down if the sun has been beating down on it. We put DP in my borthers 24'r. It looks great but has issues.

You may consider DP on the flip and 2' wide strips/tracks for the tires.