Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Toyo RA1's: To Shave or Not to Shave?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2007, 11:29 AM
dmiz0420
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyo RA1's: To Shave or Not to Shave?

Any one want to weigh in on their experience?

I've never gotten an RA1 or this sort of compound before. Should I have them shaved to 5/32's from the original 8/32's?

This is for VIR, I have been an advanced student for a couple of seasons now on stockers and want to move up, but I'm certainly not racing....yet. Is it worth sacrificing tread life at this level?

Thanks
Old 06-20-2007, 12:26 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 712 Likes on 493 Posts

8/32's make good rain tires...not much else. Treads get too hot, and therefor get slippery very fast.

5/32's is a good comprimise. 3/32 is better, but then they only last around 4 sessions.
Old 06-20-2007, 04:40 PM
dmiz0420
Racer

thanks,

Any one else?

did these chunk for anyone at full tread depth?
Old 06-20-2007, 04:45 PM
gkmccready
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I've never chunked them at full depth, but they used to feel real greasy at full depth for the first session or two (or autocross _event_ or two) even if I drove the 200km from Montreal to Ottawa on them and then drove them around another hundred or so before the event.
Old 06-20-2007, 08:43 PM
rcr162
Instructor

Originally Posted by davidfarmer
8/32's make good rain tires...not much else. Treads get too hot, and therefor get slippery very fast.

5/32's is a good comprimise. 3/32 is better, but then they only last around 4 sessions.
What he said. RA1s are very slippery/greasy unshaved. You will slide a lot until they wear down. Might as well shave off a little.
I like the Nitto NT01 much better but it may not be available in the size you need.