Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Possible C4 track car

Old 11-07-2007, 06:42 PM
SebringSixSpeed
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Possible C4 track car

Ok, I don't usually post here in the Roadracing section because I've never roadraced my Vette. But here's the thing... I've found an 87 coupe that runs but is in rough shape. It's an automatic (strike one) someone's changed it over to carberater (strike two) and nothing in the dash seems to work (strike three?). However it does run and sounds great, doesnt smoke, etc. The bumpers have been changed to the 91+ style. I believe I can get this car for less than $2000. So here is my question for the forum roadracers. What would it take to make an entry level track car out of this heap? Like I said I've never raced a car so I am a complete newb and what I'm thinking is gut out the interior, put in some gauges, roll cage and 5 point harness, but I'm sure there is more to it than that. I live within a few hours of several great tracks (VIR, CMP, RA, Lowes) and I'd love to have a dedicated car to take and not feel bad about abusing it. Please chime in with any advice (like 'Run Away!') or comments on starting out. Thanks.

Last edited by SebringSixSpeed; 11-07-2007 at 11:49 PM.
Old 11-07-2007, 07:50 PM
Brett Richmond
Melting Slicks

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Why can I never find these deals on corvettes, other car yes but not vettes It shouldn't take much other than maybe putting in a 5 speed depending on the racing class you want to race in.
Old 11-07-2007, 07:50 PM
94ZR1#444
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

PASS. Look at this car that's not too far from you:

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show...ighlight=track
Old 11-07-2007, 08:13 PM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts