Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice on diff for ST1/2 race car

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2007, 02:39 PM
0RAAMaudio
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Need advice on diff for ST1/2 race car

Corvette newbie here but been modding cars for 40 years and do 99% of my own work including metal fab.

I need to replace the diff in my 02 Z06 track only car that is being upgraded from T1 to ST1 specs(road race) but will run in ST2 with lower power for at least the first year(end of the year, will be Solo and TT until later in the season)

I have had the car two weeks, tracked it once, allot to learn and just spent a ton of money on major upgrades to the suspension, seating, Stoptechs, money is a bit tight right at the moment.

Will a stock diff be ok for the time being until I can get a race built unit or should I just bite the bullet and get one now? The diff already has a cooling system to help it last.

If bullet biting is the best answer where to I go from here, who builds them right and does not want your first born child as part of the payment?

During the track day the stock gearing seemed fine but if I end up with a built diff and a different ratio is preferred then may as well do it all at once.

Thanks, I did search, just did not find just what I was looking for.

Rick
Old 12-06-2007, 07:06 PM
tcmc5
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You might want to check w/ RPM. They built the trans/diff. that the PorVette recently ran in the Thunderhill 25 hr endurance race.
http://www.rpmtransmissions.com/index.html
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show....php?t=1879616
Old 12-06-2007, 08:34 PM
0RAAMaudio
Former Vendor

Thanks, I was referred to them today from another source as well, will give them a call tomorrow

Rick
Old 12-07-2007, 08:41 PM
MrEracer
Burning Brakes