Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thoughts on what causd this flip....

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2008, 03:58 AM
Falcon
Le Mans Master

Received 54 Likes on 23 Posts

Default Thoughts on what causd this flip....

Hunting for ideas on what caused this Cobra to flip at VIR. I know the short wheelbase doesn't help. It could have been some mechanical issue.

It's just odd since we don't see many cars do this.

Any ideas from the video?

I'd like mine over easy, please!
Old 01-12-2008, 04:51 AM
John Shiels
Team Owner

Location: Buy USA products! Check the label! Employ Americans
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

nasty luckily I have no experience to tell you! Was he OK? Just to fast and when he lost it for what ever reason it grabbed. He could have turned the wheel to recover the wrong way also.

Last edited by John Shiels; 01-12-2008 at 05:02 AM.
Old 01-12-2008, 07:15 AM
Mikelly
Melting Slicks

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

I've seen that before on live axle cars. The spring compresses only so far before the force "springs" and digs in. That energy has to go somewhere and you see the results...

Hope he was ok...
Mike
Old 01-12-2008, 07:33 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Norbert and Jami were at that event too.

That woman driver, crashed her Crbra, and their Viper. then they parked their Ford GT.

The couple refused instructor help and was apparent they had no on track experience, just deep pockets.

Last edited by AU N EGL; 01-12-2008 at 07:35 AM.
Old 01-12-2008, 08:33 AM
ghoffman
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In II Veteran

Apex'ed too early, common mistake.
Old 01-12-2008, 08:40 AM
GO_BLUE_VETTES
Racer

Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts