Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie trying to learn .... need constructive critism please

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2008, 09:49 PM
Jason Staley
Melting Slicks

Received 145 Likes on 88 Posts
Cruise-In III Veteran

Default Newbie trying to learn .... need constructive critism please

I’m a newbie to road courses with only 2 HPDE events and a 1 day driving school under my belt so far. The last time at Putnam I installed a Traqmate system and took some data while out on the track. My best lap was 1:34, and the only comparison I’ve found so far on the web is a Z06 running R compound tires doing a lap at 1:19 (not a real good comparison).

I’m wondering if you guys can please give me some constructive criticism. I’m just beginning to learn about this stuff, so I don’t have much of an ego to bruise. Also, does anybody know what a decent lap is at Putnam Park using street tires (non R compounds)?

Here are my observations:
Straight away – looks like I let off gas early and coasted some
Turn 1 – looks like I turned into the corner too early resulting in an early apex
Turn 2 - ?? not sure here. If I turn in so I get to the inside of Turn 2 would I be in a better or worse position for turn 3?
Turn 4 – It’s an off camber corner and I ran off the track here before, so I was trying to stay close to the inside. Should I go slightly wider coming out of turn 3 and apex later?
Turns 5 & 7 – should I apex these corners later?

Black – turn #
Purple – mph
Blue – lateral g’s
Red – braking and acceleration

I’m heading back to Putnam in April for another try at it. So far I’m having a blast at HPDE’s. I’ve signed up for 2 more this year, and am looking at going back to another driving school also. I'm definitely hooked , ... too bad I can't find time and $$$ for more events in a year.