Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

VIR w/ Wilderness PCA = Awesome! (very long)

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2008, 12:48 AM
sothpaw2
Safety Car

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Default VIR w/ Wilderness PCA = Awesome! (very long)

Just wanted to post a little debrief on my March 18 VIR day w/ Wilderness Trail PCA for those interested in picking up track events w/ the Porsche guys.

Overall, I had a great time--and keep in mind--I'm still a newbie w/ 7 track days over the last 3 years. These guys were well organized, and offered lots of track time--5 30 minute sessions for $225 to a non-member (well I think they were supposed to charge me $25 more but I paid what they asked!!!) for a day at VIR w/ only 20 cars in the group.

What made the day very special for me was my instructor, fast Eddie Gramisci, (gofasteddie.com)who showed up in his full red fire suite and didn't even drive his car all day. Eddie is a rookie in the Grand am series this year--I think his first race is Memorial day weekend.

Well--what can I say--Eddie taught me to be FAST. During the second session (he let me show what I had during the first) he added several crucial tweeks to my line at oak tree and turn 1-2. By Session 3 I was hitting my marks pretty consistently, which was an horrific problem last year at VIR. The big thing we left for next time is to add the heel/toe downshifting on this course--I mostly ran in 4th. Eddie was really happy all day but I could just hear him glowing over there once during the last session. "I like it...I like it" with a thick Italian accent is a phrase I won't soon forget.