Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Competeing with diffrent alignments?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2008, 06:27 PM
97C5inSD
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Competeing with diffrent alignments?

I have raced my car now for 1 year doing autox and alittle track time. and well dose very little street driving. What im wondering is will i throw my self off big time if say i keep this alignment for awhile and then change to a more aggressive alignment for like when i hit a larger compotition such as a national event where every little bit i can do can help. Am i gona be able to drive the car as well or better or is it gona throw me off something fierce that i should run a event or 2 with the alignment change before taking it to a larger event?

I know mabey a odd question but i'm new to the changeing alignments and such i just purchased myself a camber tool so i can possibly start working with it myself rather then taking it in to get done when i need it.

Thanks
Old 04-22-2008, 06:55 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 372 Likes on 308 Posts

With very little street driving, why not have the better aggressive alignment! The choice then is to focus for autox or road racing. You may want the rear to rotate and slide more for autox which would be bad at high speed in road racing. You could focus in on learning to change just that though!
Old 04-22-2008, 07:03 PM
varkwso
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I run the track alignments full time on my cars - they wander a bit on the ruts in the roads....but tire wear has not been an issue..
Old 04-22-2008, 08:58 PM
97C5inSD
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Originally Posted by varkwso