Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake cool down length?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 05:30 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director

Received 372 Likes on 308 Posts

Default Brake cool down length?

I was wondering if there is an optimal time for a cool down lap. Also is there an optimal speed? Is 40 MPH OK or is 60 MPH better? Would rotors last longer with a long cool down time, for example leaving the track and putting on a few highway miles?
Old 05-27-2008, 05:56 PM
MungoZ06
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '10-'11

Well ... I'm a novice at this, just going into my 5th year ... but I try not to hit my brakes on the cool down lap on a HPDE, and if I've been using them really hard I continue driving around the pits at pit speed for a few minutes before parking ... then after parking I roll the car a foot every couple minutes for about 10 minutes. I've never cracked a rotor.
Old 05-27-2008, 06:41 PM
John Shiels
Team Owner

Location: Buy USA products! Check the label! Employ Americans
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

60 will bring more air than 40. You can drive around the pits a bit to keep air moving if cool down lap is short which many are. They do half laps when they flag end of session at two postions to save time at HPDE.
Old 05-27-2008, 08:22 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 712 Likes on 493 Posts

I'm fine with a slow cool-down in the paddock. Just shut er' down and don't touch the brakes until their ambiant. However, as above, 60mph moves more air than 40mph, but then you are on track less time so the cooling probably works out about the same.
Old 05-27-2008, 08:27 PM
Aardwolf
Race Director