Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How much oil (over) is too much?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2008, 10:30 AM
rbl
Drifting

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default How much oil (over) is too much?

I usually run 1/2 to 1 qt. over full for HPDE in the C6. Is 1.5 Qt. over too much and what are the consequences if any? I inadvertently overfilled (with the aid of my helper ...lol) it a little!

Any issues with seals?
Old 08-26-2008, 11:46 AM
Wayne O
CF Senior Member
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts

I'm no expert but I think 1.5 quarts over is too much. When I track my car I put about an extra half quart in. Someone told me even using a full quart over can cause some oil 'ingestion' problems. If it were me, I'd drain some oil out.
Old 08-26-2008, 12:11 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Rex

The GM engineers recommend for the C6 that no additional Oil be added for HPDEs or track events.

One 1 qt extra for C5s
Old 08-26-2008, 12:26 PM
drbenne
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

1.5 qts over is too much. Not sure if it will cause any harm, but it will blow thru your PCV and you get oil all over your throttle body/intake etc. as wll as out the exhaust and over the back of your car. It is a huge mess.
Old 08-26-2008, 02:37 PM
rbl
Drifting

OK ... thanks folks. I thought so too. Will drain it and run it at the full line.
Old 08-26-2008, 04:28 PM
Rob Burgoon
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by AU N EGL
Rex

The GM engineers recommend for the C6 that no additional Oil be added for HPDEs or track events.

One 1 qt extra for C5s
Huh... I thought it was 1 quart over for the base and Z51 C6. I have been wrong before though...
Old 08-26-2008, 04:35 PM
MattW_VA
Pro

St. Jude Donor '07

Originally Posted by Rob Burgoon