Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone here into karting?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 12:15 AM
USAsOnlyWay
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Anyone here into karting?

I don't know if there is a better forum for this but I just wanted to get some advice for a complete beginner to get advice on karting.

What to watch for?

What is a good kart for an adult that I also won't grow out of too quickly?

Any advice is appreciated.

There is a course right by where I live and I think I'll improve my skills more, doing some karting than auto-x'ing once a month for 3 runs.

Thanks and apologies if this is the wrong forum.

Old 09-16-2008, 12:51 AM
C66 Racing
Premium Supporting Vendor

Received 35 Likes on 25 Posts

I actually started racing in karts near Davis way back when. Two-cycle karts on some track near Roseville.

Karting is great and I've seriously considered selling the Vette and getting into karting for a few years with my daughters. As they don't seem to be too interested, I haven't moved out of the investigation phase yet.

I did look into it last year and learned a lot... which was mostly that trying to decide how to get into karting is harder than deciding how to get into car racing. Way too many kart engine options and classes these days. My suggestion - go to several local events and watch, look, listen and talk to as many different people as possible. Overall, I'd pick a class that is popular and that is relatively maintenance free.

Good luck with your search.

C66 Racing #66 NASA ST2, SCCA T2
AMSOIL Dealer (Forum Vendor)
AMSOIL Ordering Information (Retail sales using reference #1206638 benefit the forum.)
AMSOIL Preferred Customer Program (Members buy at Wholesale - a savings of about 25%)
AMSOIL Catalog

Old 09-16-2008, 04:32 AM
WBHighwind
Burning Brakes