Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Spring rate, and wheel rate's

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2008, 11:03 PM
spazegun2213
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Spring rate, and wheel rate's

Alright guys, I'm no suspension engineer and I'm far from smart. I know there are far smarter people on this forum, and with all the suspension shops that offer their products, I hope someone can chime in.

At the moment I have Penske 8100 series shocks, with a threaded body. Over the winter i want to convert them into coilovers. However, I'm wishy washy on the spring rates i want. I've heard two different theories, one is the typical stiffer in front, and ~100lbs less in the rear. The other is the reverse! I've heard it from both sides, and even found out that the t1 springs actually have a stiffer rear rate, than front. So, I want to find out why someone would run a stiffer rear spring on a corvette. I know the tranny is in the rear, but is the wheel rate just that much different in the rear for a stiffer spring to be used?

Now, I'm not asking what rates i should run, I'm simply asking what the wheel rates are for the c5, and why someone would run a stiffer setup in the rear. What do you all think?
Old 10-14-2008, 12:44 AM
Z06Fix
Drifting

I know the autox guys like a much stiffer front spring than the rear.

Maybe some of the road race guys will chime in. But for some reason I was thinking that most of the off the shelf coil-over kits were setup with the front stiffer than the rear.
Old 10-14-2008, 08:34 AM
ltborg
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Z06Fix
I know the autox guys like a much stiffer front spring than the rear.