Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

active handling

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2009, 11:53 PM
fatbillybob
Melting Slicks

Received 204 Likes on 160 Posts

Default active handling

I'm new to vette tracking. for those familiar with Streets of willow (a tight short course) when I'm in comp mode I get the "active handling" come up on the DIC all the time. I feel plenty in control. Who is in control me or the car? What is the active handling light telling me? Am I sliding the car too much?
Old 02-25-2009, 12:29 AM
Bimota Guy
Burning Brakes

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by fatbillybob
I'm new to vette tracking. for those familiar with Streets of willow (a tight short course) when I'm in comp mode I get the "active handling" come up on the DIC all the time. I feel plenty in control. Who is in control me or the car? What is the active handling light telling me? Am I sliding the car too much?
It is too intrusive when on R tires since it is desigend for street rubber. Turn it off.

Frankly, when I first started tracking my Vette I would leave it in "comp mode" (traction off/active handling on) for the first session so I could find out where I might be pushing it too hard.
Old 02-25-2009, 01:39 AM
joemoia
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Bimota Guy
It is too intrusive when on R tires since it is desigend for street rubber. Turn it off.
with a track alignment & R tires you are generating yaw rates/lateral g's beyond the system's capabilities. AH will hinder your laptimes and eat up your brakes
Old 02-25-2009, 03:13 AM
xsiveone
Le Mans Master

I don't like it anyway for that very reason. You don't know who is in control. You don't know where your limits are. What's the point in taking your car to the track if you don't know how to drive your car?