Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track Day Advice '08 Z51

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2009, 04:18 PM
MartyZ51
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Track Day Advice '08 Z51

This will be the first DE/HPDE season with my '08 Z51 6 Speed. I will run about 5 weekend events this year and would like to learn any uniques about the C6 from you the experts. I have 8 years of HPDE experience running 4th Generation Camaros. I stepped up to a Corvette because I was beyond the intended design limitations of the Camaro.

Questions:
What are the common system failures encountered on road courses with the C6?

Is there anything unique about bleeding the brakes and can I use solo bleeders at the end of each day? Is it even needed?

It appears the rubber boots on the front tie rod ends melt. I was planning on taping with heat resistant tape. Do the backs melt as well?

Does the standard Oil cooler keep the engine temp below 300?

Does the power steering cooler keep the fluid from boiling out of the reservoir or is this even a problem?

Where are you getting front rotors as I think these are directional and have to be purchased for left and right sides?

Any other suggestions for a stock car used mainly at Heartland Park in topeka, Kansas?

I'll be running Carbotech XP10s on the front and XP8s on the rear with Motul fluid. I'll run Hoosier R6s on stock rims but need to determine the largest size that will fit. I'll be trailer to the events so car setup can be done well in advance.
Old 03-01-2009, 06:09 PM
Z06Fix
Drifting

Originally Posted by MartyZ51