Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire wear Patterns?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 04:33 PM
Lan.Jet
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Tire wear Patterns?

What could be causing this kind of wear? The second to the outside tread is wearing more than the rest is this a Camber problem? Too much or to little

Last edited by Lan.Jet; 03-07-2009 at 04:37 PM.
Old 03-07-2009, 04:45 PM
theVcar
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08

Are you tracking and if you are possibly too much pressure. I had to little and the sidewall took the hit. So besed on that I thinking too > pressure. I'm no expert
Old 03-07-2009, 05:19 PM
StealthLT4
Safety Car

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I would say too much neg camber and too much pressure. I'm far from an expert, but from what I understand, that would explain that wear pattern.
Old 03-07-2009, 05:56 PM
Lan.Jet
Racer

Yes, this car is tracked I only drive it on the street to get to the track.
I have been running 30 PSI hot and -.8 Camber. I was running the stock 2000 Z51 stabilizer bar. I have just installed a T1 bar. I don’t know if this will help or hurt this problem.

Thanks for the replies
Old 03-07-2009, 06:24 PM
RogerT
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire wear issue.

Forget about a negative camber problem. Too much negative camber will wear the inner tread first. Here, the outer tread is wearing. Too high tire pressure will wear the center tread first. Too much toe-in can wear the outer tread first, but will give a " finned " appearance to the tread, outside to inside, and more obvious on the right side tire. This does not look like a toe-in issue.

I'm thinking maybe you have low tire pressure and the tire tread is "rolling over " to the outside. What do the rest of you think?

I hope this helps.

Roger T
Old 03-07-2009, 07:29 PM