Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hoosier R6 vs Kuhmo 710 discussion

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 10:20 AM
95jersey
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Hoosier R6 vs Kuhmo 710 discussion

I have been running Hoosiers for the past 3 years as for a long time, they were the only tire available in OEM C6Z sizes. I use to go back and forth between Hoosier and Kuhmo when running my C5.

Recently the 710 became available in C6Z sizes and since it has been so long and they have changed the compound recently, I wanted to see how everyone felt about the 710 as compared to the R6.

Here is some data I found on both tires.

Hoosier weight section width tread width

285/18 24lbs 11.5 10.9
345/19 30lbs 14.1 13.0

Kuhmo weight section width tread width

285/18 23.7 11.4 11.1
335/19 26.7 13.5 13.2

Now in looking at the data, it seems since the Kuhmo has rounded shoulders, while the section width is smaller, the tread width is larger. Also, in speaking with the Hoosier tire rep, he stated that for a tire to be labled a 345, it only needs to fall into a specific range to obtian that rating and there are cases where a 335 can be the same size or larger than a 345. Point in case,the Hoosier 285 is actually wider than the 295. So this makes things difficult as we can simply not just go by industry ratings, but you should look at the actual measurements of the respective tire vs. just beleiving it's rating

I have heard the 710 had a compound change recently.

I love the R6, but I am always looking at other options. From my recollection of the 710, it was equal/close in grip, but lasted quite a bit longer than the R6. It is also slightly cheaper than the R6. What is everyone seeing in comparing the 2 tires from a grip and longevity perspective?
Old 04-02-2009, 10:33 AM
Sidney004
Melting Slicks