Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 Track Weekend Conclusions

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2009, 09:02 PM
MartyZ51
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default C6 Track Weekend Conclusions

Here's my track experience with an '08 Z51, NPP, 6 speed that may be helpful for some people hoping to track a C6:

PCA three day advanced Driver Education event at Heartland Park Topeka. I have 8 years of track experience with Camaros at various tracks in the midwest. This was my first weekend in the Corvette.

Modifications: Hoosier R6s (Tire Rack) mounted to 5 spoke stock take-off rims, Quantum brake vents with 3" hose (street hose is fine), -2.1 degrees camber on the front and -1.1 on the back (NTP). Carbotech XP10 pads on the front and XP8 on the rear. I flushed the system with Autozone Dot 4 fluid using newly installed Earl's Solo Bleeders (LG). Greased the rear tie rod ends and wrapped all four with heat shield tape to prevent them from melting. GM splash guards (Gene) were added to help reduce rock chips from the slicks as they are wider than stock. The TPMS reset tool from Katech and the TPMS sensors (House of Wheels) worked flawlessly. I don't subscribe to On-Star but I pulled the fuse at my house beacuse I could feel the black helicopters circling overhead. The car is a 3LT with HUD and without floor mats and with a 1/2 tank of gas it scaled at 3230 pounds.