Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Handling?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2009, 01:52 AM
fatbillybob
Melting Slicks

Received 209 Likes on 164 Posts

Default Handling?

I had a very unusual experience last weekend at an Auto-x. I ran a friend's NSX and I went into a sweeper pretty hot. The backend broke and I let off the gas and the backend jumped back into line! I need no countersteer like my C5Z. In fact my C5Z wold have continued to tankslap with be trying to keep up with steering and maybe I save it and maybe not. for sure that would have cost me time. His car jumped back in line as if I was a good driver and cost me almost no time. So the question is what causes a car to jump back in line like that? I would expect a midengine tail heavy car to be a significant tankslaper (I raced a midengine Ferrari for a while). Is this jumping back in line a charactor of heavily biased differentials like spools or 80% lock LSD vs. the typical approx 60% streetcar lock in our LSD's?
Old 06-17-2009, 03:23 AM
C6400hp
Safety Car

Location: DFW This user does not support or recommend the product or service displayed in the ad to the right
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by fatbillybob