Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Could a C5 win the 09 Runoffs or must you have a C6

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2009, 10:38 PM
clubracer6
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Could a C5 win the 09 Runoffs or must you have a C6

Ok, no Viper or guys or prancing horses chime in and say neither.

I searched on the web, I searched here, but couldn't find any recent discussion about what will work for a front runner in T1.

Bottom line, I see that some C5's are still winning nationals, but I haven't dug far enough to see the car counts... Could a C5 make the podium at Road America - whether it be this year or next? Or is the C6 that much better? I understand you've gotta be a small guy to make weight on the C5.

I'm not a newbie - been racing since 92.

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-25-2009, 10:43 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 709 Likes on 490 Posts

I think it's all in the minimum weights, and the LS3 C6's are heavy. You should track down Chris Ingle and see what he thinks. There is no overall performance advantage in a C6 in my opinion, but SCCA may have F'd up the base weights giving one an advantage over the other.

Obviously, the C5 will be phased out of legality, so I don't think I'd BUILD one now.
Old 08-25-2009, 10:49 PM
clubracer6
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

yeah, I wouldn't build one, but buy a done one.

Thanks for the quick input!
Old 08-25-2009, 11:17 PM
BuckeyeZ06
Le Mans Master

Received 48 Likes on 31 Posts

Yes.
Old 08-25-2009, 11:17 PM
99BlackZ51
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts