Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fun with data...

Old 08-29-2009, 05:52 PM
gkmccready
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Fun with data...

Yesterday I ran Thunderhill in Willows, CA for the first time in over a year. I had just put an MXL Pista dash/data acquisition unit in the '06 C6 and hooked it up to the OBDII/CAN port along with their GPS module.

Loaded up the data, generated a track map, and these are a few of the views I find interesting... I'm still learning what this software can do (read that: I have no idea what I'm actually doing!)...

Minimum and maximum speeds in the various segments:

Lateral acceleration:

Oil pressure: (!!)

This one shows how late I am getting back to the gas sometimes:

[Throttle] Pedal Position:

This is the builtin yaw sensor, but the GPS unit also offers a "gyro" that has the same functionality. If I'm reading it correctly, the blue would be understeer, and the red oversteer.

Yaw sensor:

And, finally, a plot of Pedal Position versus Throttle Position ... throttle-by-wire, remember? This one is kind of neat. When PPS reads 0 the TPS can read between 10-15% but the interesting thing here is actually that the curves *do not* match perfectly. I run with everything off, so this is not AH/TC getting involved...

Old 08-30-2009, 12:57 AM
C5 Hardtop
Race Director

Received 272 Likes on 163 Posts

Thats very cool , thanks for sharing!

What is your ballpark lap time for that track and what tires did you run while logging that data?
Old 08-30-2009, 12:35 PM
gkmccready
Safety Car

That lap was a 2:07, I was on Toyo R888 275/35r18+305/35r18 on CCW C140 18x10+18x11. DRM coilovers, Wilwood SL6R front calipers, Pfadt poly bushings, HardbarUSA harness bar & belt mounts.