Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Biggest Gripes at Autocross Events

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2009, 12:08 PM
biggrizzly
Melting Slicks

Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts
2015 C5 of Year Finalist

Default Biggest Gripes at Autocross Events

Hi All,

I'm new to the Autocross/Roadracing forum here and have been lurking this space for a while. My club is an NCCC club and we are hosting our first "home" autocross event this coming weekend. Just for information I'd like to find out what you guys think your biggest gripes are with the organization and management of autocross events.

I have already had someone tell me to "START ON TIME" -- Ok got that.
What else?

Thanks for your comments. Blast away
Old 10-27-2009, 12:44 PM
AtomicZ
Burning Brakes

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Be prepared to sit all day long to get in 4 or 5 runs. Autocross is a great way to learn your car but you spend a lot of time waiting around.
Old 10-27-2009, 12:44 PM
Lawdogg
Safety Car

Received 210 Likes on 91 Posts

1. Making participants work at the event. Host club should get enough non-racing members to show up and work.

2. Not making rerun drivers wait sufficient time for their tires to cool so as not to have an unfair advantage.

3. Not posting run results quickly.

4. When someone gets to bypass the line waiting to run for whatever reason and bringing them all the way to the front of the line and going ahead of those just about to run. Place them 3 or 4 cars back so as not to disrupt the mental prep of those just about to run.
Old 10-27-2009, 12:58 PM
Lancer033
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Lawdogg
1. Making participants work at the event. Host club should get enough non-racing members to show up and work.
I've never not worked...is that not normal?
Old 10-27-2009, 01:07 PM
66IISS
Racer