Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

wheel questions....

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 07:04 PM
bags142
Pro

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Default wheel questions....

I am new to vette's, just got a 00 frc to be my weekend/fun/roadtrip and track car. I have done some track stuff, 2 days..lol.. Ideally I would like to do 4-5 track days a year, but this depends on time and money. SO street use would be higher than track for the next 2-3 years easy.

Anyway, I am looking at a set of wheels. These wheels will do both street and track. I understand many people don't like repro's for track, some do. As I am on a limited budget, I am trying to find if anyone is running repro's on the track with good or bad experience? Like a LW&T or similar is the wheels I am looking at. Ideally I would have 2 sets of rims, but for now, the budget does not allow it.

And FWIW, I am looking at 18x9.5 all around with 265 F and 285 R. I don't have active handling, but from the threads I have read I could still have TC issues with a square setup, so this gets me close, but maintains some diameter difference front to rear.

If this appears to be a bad idea I would happily listen to other suggestions

TIA
Old 12-02-2009, 07:39 PM
The Panther
Burning Brakes

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Most will say to stay away from repros because they are heavy and to stick with OEM wheels. Speedline Z06 wheels can be run square with the fronts (17x9.5) or rears(18x10.5) and are pretty easy to find on here especially the fronts.

The cheapest wheels are wagon wheels and you could run the rears (18x9.5) square if you don't mind the look. I got a set for under $100 and painted them black.

Do a search in this Forum for Speedline and you will find a bunch of info.

Last edited by The Panther; 12-02-2009 at 07:49 PM.
Old 12-02-2009, 09:21 PM