Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Watkins Glen

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 03:26 AM
CodeBlack
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Watkins Glen

I going to Watkins Glen for a HPDE and would like your recommendations being that it's my first time at this track and it's my first time running on Hoosier R6's. I've spent 2 seasons on street tires. I've purchased a good set of scrubs for my C6Z06 and also have new Hoosier R6's. Does it make a difference on this track whether I use the scrubs or new tires?
I'm also taking my street tires in case it rains.
Old 03-28-2010, 05:18 AM
NewC6Toy
Instructor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Watkins Glen can be pretty cold in the mornings and I have had some days where it has taken 3 or 4 laps before my R6s felt like they were up to temperature. Watkins Glen also tends to be tough on brakes, bring spares and good brake fluid.
As far scrubs vs. new R6s, I find R6s to be consistent over their life so you should be fine on scrubs. Although, not being a professional racer I couldn't tell you about the fraction of second kind of performance of the tire.
Old 03-28-2010, 08:27 AM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

Scrubs or new should not make a lot of difference unless the scrubs are very old tires - 3-4 years or so. They get hard and slippery. I agree with the second post, you have to get some heat in the tires before pushing really hard, especially on a cold morning run group at the Glen
Old 03-28-2010, 08:58 AM
Wicked Weasel
Team Owner

Received 297 Likes on 94 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'08

When are you going?
Old 03-28-2010, 10:28 AM
John Shiels
Team Owner

Location: Buy USA products! Check the label! Employ Americans
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts