Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6Z Track Prep

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2010, 05:12 PM
Liquid1
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default C6Z Track Prep

I am an intermediate level driver and want to prep my new-to-me 2008 C6Z for the track. It is currently stock. My plan is to run with the stock tires and brakes and then replace them with something more track appropriate when needed, unless there is a safety issue with that strategy. Here is what I am thinking, but advice and opinions very much welcomed.

Definites

4 Point Harness/Chassis Bar from Pfadt or LG. I do not want a full cage at this point or to cut up the interior too much and this appears to be the best compromise. Any other options I should be evaluating?

Racing Seat - Model TBD

Harness Belts - Leaning towards the 8 point Sparco harness from Finspeed

HANS Sport - Probably will end up with 20 degree but need to confirm, sliding tethers, quick disconnects.

Motul RBF 600 Brake Fluid

SS Braided Brake Lines - From Quantum

Brake Ducting - Quantum

Replace Coolant with Water + Water Wetter

Track Alignment - Need Specs

No Slip Pedals - Southern Car Parts

Magnetic Drain Plugs and HP 300 Filtermag

Fire Extinguisher - TBD

Uncertain

LPE Larger Oil Sump Tank - Probably not mandatory if I am retaining stock tires for now and running mostly clockwise but seems to be fairly inexpensive insurance.

Upgraded Sway Bars - This was a huge upgrade for my NSX but not sure how important it is on the Z.

I use the car mostly for the track but want to keep it street legal and generally as lightly modified as possible. Please let me know what I am missing, if anything, or if I am on the wrong track (no pun intended) with anything. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Liquid1; 04-07-2010 at 10:22 AM.
Old 03-31-2010, 06:06 PM
95jersey
Le Mans Master