Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

WHeel for HPDE Z51 2008 track once a month at leat

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 12:30 AM
DRUGschnorr
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default WHeel for HPDE Z51 2008 track once a month at leat

I have been tracking on HPDE monthly or more for the last 6 months.. ready to start considering r compounds...
I have Iforged 18x 9.5or 10's in front and 19 x 11 in the rear w/ Yoko's advantage for now.. 255/35 R18 front and 305x 30 in the rear

would like to get a set of wheels for a 4 wheel tire change for the track.

should i stay w/ 18 and 19s?
should i get a scratched set of Z06 wheels?
should i get a road rashed set of stock c6's or do i have brake issues w/ stock C6 wheels?
what about the things i don't even know to ask?

these are weighty decissions and don't want to make too many mistakes.

I like the "what i have learned at the track" feed, and want to learn more.

I chased a few z06's around the harris hill course in san marcos, tx last weekend and was jelous of the cornering grip.

I am going to Cresson this weekend for another weekend ( wife is wonderful.. did tell yall that)..

I know everyone has opinions but would love the dialog.

so its wheels and tires..
read the TSP threads and will likely get seperate TSP and a programmer so i can change them at the track..
Old 05-13-2010, 12:58 AM
2000BSME
Le Mans Master

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

My first time on track, I went with repro z06 'motorsport' wheels and brand new Hoosier slicks. $16-1700 total.

If I were doing it all over, I would have bought OEM z06 wheels, or ccw classics (17's all the way around and use the same tire front and back), with used tires from this forum, and another set of spare tires, also used from this forum.