Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What Corvette to get for HPDE events?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2010, 07:00 PM
sergeyk
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Corvette to get for HPDE events?

Hi,

I am new to Corvettes and looking to get my next HPDE/summer car. Budget is $30K. Car should be street legal.
Choices:
1) C5 Z06 and keep it stock;
2) C6 Base and add aftermarket suspension setup, oil/tranny cooler, BBK;
3) C6 Z51 and keep it stock;
4) BMW E46 M3;

I usually do 10-15 HPDEs per season and currently have 2001 Audi S4 (with RS4 turbos) as track car and prefer to keep next car as close to stock as possible for reliability....
If somebody owns(ed) several cars from the list and can compare, please let me know your opinion.

Thank you.
Old 05-17-2010, 07:12 PM
longdaddy
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

C5 will need fluid coolers too, it only has power steering cooler in the stock trim. Also you may want to budget for tires, pads and rotors - they go very fast on these cars. If you are planning to do a lot of DEs you will also be pretty unhappy with stock seats
Old 05-17-2010, 07:18 PM
sergeyk
Racer

Default Well, my goal is to get the car that can be tracked as close to be stock as possible.

Replacing seats is ok, but I am really trying to avoid adding a lot of performance upgrades to the engine/tranny, etc.
Tires: I noticed that they are more $ then my current 235/40/17.
But interestingly, track pads are cheaper for C6 Z51 then my current Brembo GT BBK...
Old 05-17-2010, 07:23 PM
longdaddy
Drifting

Originally Posted by sergeyk
Replacing seats is ok, but I am really trying to avoid adding a lot of performance upgrades to the engine/tranny, etc.
Tires: I noticed that they are more $ then my current 235/40/17.