Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2009 Z06 oiling ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2010, 09:18 PM
redZ06bri

Default 2009 Z06 oiling ?

Hello everybody and let me introduce myself. I used to go by "spiralbri" but have been off the forum for a while, so I had to reregister. I have been an advanced HPDE driver for the past 6 years and have been running my C5 coupe with LG coilovers and R-compound Hoosiers. In short, I've never had any engine problems and really enjoy the setup, it is fast and reliable. In fact, the car (a 2003) now has 90K on it with many, many hours of high G track use and still runs strong.

I felt kinda like I was outgrowing the car, and in a moment of weakness, took advantage of the economy and got a new 2009, red C6 Z06, which I'm really enjoying as a street car. My thought was that in another 1-2 years, I'de start tracking it and retire the old gray coupe.

Since I've got the C6, I starting reading the forum again and have read most if not all of the "LS7 oil starvation" threads. Needless to say, I was bummed out that some have found that the C6 Z06 is not robust enough to take R compound Gs in the turns, despite a dry sump system.

OK, here is my question; what is the current thinking on the oil starvation issue and is it thought that the higher capacity 2009 ZR1 system "fixes the problem". Are there any documented cases of 2009 oil starvation at the track ? I know some people think the Lingenfelter tank solves the problem (Yes, I saw those cool measurements posted on the left handed sweepers). Based on this, should I assume that the GM 10.5 gallon tank either eliminates or greatly reduces the risk ? What has been the experience with the 2009 and 2010 cars ? Any blown LS7s?