Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track pad question

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2010, 02:29 PM
TGiuliante
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Track pad question

I know this is a very discretionable topic however i would like your opinions / experiences. As I am new to a Z (came from a carerra) I am still learning what brakes I like, rotors etc. I have a stock set up with Motul fluid, quantum brake cooling ducts, stainless steel lines - stock caliber, stock master cylinder.

I have DBA 4000 series rotors and currently have been running EBC blues - which I like on the track so far. I am contemplating a Carbotech XP12/XP10 set up. What are your experiences with pads vs chewing up rotors / stopping power etc...

How do the carbotechs compare to Hawk and thier effect on rotor life etc...

The car is mainly track driven with minor street driving.

Thanks for your input.
Tom
Old 07-30-2010, 02:52 PM
95jersey
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If you run a true race pad like an XP12, you'll crack your rotors LONG before they get "chewed up", so no worries there.

Also, I stated this several times in the past, I think brake pad choice (beside driver ability and intended use), should really depend on the tires you run. XP12 will be overkill for street tires. You'd be hard pressed to get them in their sweet spot on street tires. Your probably better off with XP8 for street tires (assuming that is how you run). Reserve the expensive high temp race pads to use with race rubber.
Old 07-30-2010, 04:13 PM
ssdeuce
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by TGiuliante