Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 spring question

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2011, 07:22 PM
Charley Hoyt
Safety Car

Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts

Default C6 spring question

I need some advice about suspension. I have a C6 Z51 convertible that has Z06 fenders, wheels, and sway bars. I would say that I am an intermediate track driver (which means that I know enough to know that there is sooo much more to know). My question is about the springs on my car. Is it a good use of a few hundred dollars to switch to the C6 Z06 springs to match the wheels and sway bars? Right now my car handles very well and feels well balanced. Although I suspect that I spend a lot of time on the bump stops while cornering. I am not sure if ,or how much, the stiffer springs would improve the handling? Any advice would be appreciated. Here are a couple of pictures of the cornering.

Thanks for the help.

Charley

Old 01-22-2011, 07:29 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 711 Likes on 492 Posts

I haven't compare rates, but I do find that a Z51 C6 feels pretty soft when comparing back-to-back at the track. Some of that is the bars, some of it is the springs. If you have access to a pair at a good price, I'd say it's a no-brainer. If you are paying retail....I'd probably look into other options (VBP leafs, coil-overs, etc).
Old 01-22-2011, 07:37 PM
gkmccready
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I don't think it'll help you much. The C6 Z51 front spring is the same as the C5 Z06 front spring and is 526#. The C6 Z06 front spring is 531# a whopping 6#/in increase -- I have never figured out why they even bothered with a different part. The C6 T1 front spring is 582#.