Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to the forum and track

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 12:47 AM
Corvette_Fanatic
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the forum and track

Hi guys, I've been lookin around the forum, especially the auto-x and roadracing section and I finally decided to get an account. I am interested in going into roadracing but not anytime soon because I have little knowledge on this and would like some advice. I am mainly interested in driving in an open track/non-competitive events but I wouldnt mind competitive events. I just really dont know where to start with this. I am leaning towards purchasing a c5 corvette to start. I also know a few things about the physics of racing and the "best line" on the track which is why the sticky didnt help as much. Any advice will help. Thank You
Old 05-26-2011, 05:06 AM
sebdavid
Pro

http://www.amazon.com/Going-Faster-M...6400733&sr=8-1
http://www.amazon.com/Speed-Secrets-...6400733&sr=8-2

And do as many HPDE (driving school) events with your local clubs as you can afford before modifying the car, which will be much more capable than you at the beginning.
Old 05-26-2011, 07:21 AM
Falcon
Le Mans Master

Received 54 Likes on 23 Posts

Look for a Porsche Club of America (PCA) or a BMW club in your area. A lot of these clubs have numerous High Performance Driving Education (HPDE) events in your area at local road courses. That's how many of us got started in this stuff.

To start you don't need a high performance car. You can bring about anything to the track and the instructors will teach you the basics of going fast. It's a progressive hobby so you build on what you learned from prior events.

Where are you located? Some of us might be near you and can point you to a local club or event.
Old 05-26-2011, 08:07 AM
Jason
Team Owner