Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stuck to magnetic drain plug!

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2011, 04:31 PM
Dirty Howie
Team Owner

Received 227 Likes on 179 Posts

Default Stuck to magnetic drain plug!

Do any of you guys know what this is? Was stuck to the main magnetic drain plug, not the one on the external tank.

Poor quality cell phone picture. Looks like piston ring to me (but I'm no expert). Very flat about 1mm thick, about 4 mm wide, and the longer piece almost 1/2 inch.

Car runs good !!!

DH

Last edited by Dirty Howie; 06-01-2011 at 11:35 PM.
Old 05-29-2011, 06:54 PM
sperkins
Le Mans Master

Received 44 Likes on 35 Posts

Looks like it to me with the quality of pics posted. If it is a ring, it would almost have to be a compression ring since the oil rings are above it.
May be time for a leakdown or compression test at minimum.
Old 05-29-2011, 07:50 PM
fatbillybob
Melting Slicks

Received 204 Likes on 160 Posts

Dh,

How about a piece of bearing cage? I would search an ls7 exploded diagram for possible candidates. Maybe in the timing gear area? I do not see how piston ring can end up in oil unless engine go bang since ring is contained in the ring land. Get a better picture. Is the metal all chewed up or clean break with sharp edge details? I assume from engine oil plug?
Old 05-29-2011, 08:29 PM
Dirty Howie
Team Owner

Originally Posted by fatbillybob
Dh,

How about a piece of bearing cage? I would search an ls7 exploded diagram for possible candidates. Maybe in the timing gear area? I do not see how piston ring can end up in oil unless engine go bang since ring is contained in the ring land. Get a better picture. Is the metal all chewed up or clean break with sharp edge details? I assume from engine oil plug?
Carl