Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tires and Suspension

Old 10-02-2011, 05:15 PM
crease-guard
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Tires and Suspension

I'm pretty new to the track thing having done one HPDE weekend (and getting bumped from green to blue after one weekend) and a few solo track days on my own.

Now, before anyone answers my following question with "more seat time" I am in complete agreement with that answer having experienced how much more difficult this is to do that one might think. Seat time I can get and will and will try to get it as much as I can with an instructor in the next seat.

With all that being said, when does one know it's time to go to R compound tires and then to coil overs and sways?

Right now the car is a stock C5 Z06 with completely stock LS6, stock suspension and street tires. The car has been gutted and caged, fire system, roll over detectors, racing seats and harness. I've got all the safety stuff in place so my next mods are suspension and then body/wing kits for better handling.

Jay

Last edited by crease-guard; 10-02-2011 at 05:17 PM.
Old 10-02-2011, 05:58 PM
JimbeauZ06
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts