Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Vehicle Selection Help... For a New Guy.

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2012, 04:21 PM
svoshop
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Vehicle Selection Help... For a New Guy.

Ok guys. I recently did Spring Mountian, and I am hooked. I want to find and begin to build a car for some track days this year.

I currently have a 2009 Z06 and 2011 ZR1, but I am not ready to put them out on a track, being I am new at the game. I would rather learn how to drive the car, and follow lines first. That being said, I do not want a Miata either.

I figure my budget on this is going to be around 15k. I can buy parts and make the car better, but for the vehicle purchase. This is all I am thinking... I want to be able to walk away from it, and not feel terrible is something bad happens.

I would love to use a Corvette, I figure a C5 with miles could be a great starter car. I would like it to be a 6-speed.

However, I am open to other idea's. I have thought about a BMW 3 Series, F-Body of some type... Even a Mustang GT or older Cobra.

The use of the car will be mostly track, and I have a truck and trailer to get it there. However, I also will most likely drive it around once and a while, as track days will only happen so often ( so I say now )...

Should I start with such a powerful car? I had a blast out it SM. Wish I had the guts to use my Z06, but I just can't do it to the girl.

I would most likely just have lightweight wheels, sticky tires, some type of suspension, oil cooler, etc... For the first year. I really hope to grow into this.

SO, can I get a good entry level Corvette for that, or should I go look at C4's and figure on spending 10k on mods.

Thanks in advance.

Mike
Old 01-08-2012, 04:37 PM
longdaddy
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts