Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Race seat drivers, stock passenger for track days - opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2012, 09:06 PM
JeremyGSU
Drifting

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

Default Race seat drivers, stock passenger for track days - opinions?

I'm an instructor with Chin and I have an '04 Z06 and I was curious to see if anyone just kept their stock passenger seat in with the seatbelts for track days for students or friends?

I currently have two Corbeau FX1's with 6 pts and no seat belts but my car is also a street car and a lot of people always want to ride on the street so I want to put the passenger stock seat back in with seatbelts. I'm going to get mine back in too before anyone jumps on me but with a different seat. I just don't like taking people around with 6 pts.

So I was thinking of just slapping my stock seat back in and buy those wing seat things you can get. Yeah, you'll still get thrown around a little but at least I don't have to worry about them not having HANS or having the harnesses tight enough, proper angles, etc.

I know my other track friends will frown upon this but I wanted to get the general consensus.

Opinions? Isn't this safer overall for people of different heights, etc?
Old 01-25-2012, 09:25 PM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

Originally Posted by JeremyGSU
I'm an instructor with Chin and I have an '04 Z06 and I was curious to see if anyone just kept their stock passenger seat in with the seatbelts for track days for students or friends?