Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

whats so hard about getting a c4 race ready?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2012, 12:16 PM
rithsleeper
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default whats so hard about getting a c4 race ready?

Buddy and me are ready to take the plunge and get our competition licence. We have done autox, and some hpde/pdx events. He drives a z3 and im in my 89 6-speed vette. We need a fully functional race legal car to get the license. Everyone we have talked to says the same thing. Buy an already prepped car. Save yourself the time.

Here is the thing, I believe them, but I have a lot of time this summer (im a teacher so have 3 months to myself). Money is in very short supply from both of us (he is 3rd year med school). I have a massive garrage, tons of tools, I do every piece of work on my own cars and this is my 3rd c4.

What is so hard about race prepping a car? Besides stripping the inside, building the cage (I would get someone to do this for me), wiring in some cut off switches to fuel, ign, etc, getting some safety harnesses and seat, what is the big deal?

He is seeing cars ie this dodge neon prepped with 3 sets of rims for 4k?! A f#%$ing front wheel drive pos? I don't need another vette, but to me I could get a 80s c4 in good driving condition and poor cosmetic for 3k, and make the race car for just over that. And wouldn't have a neon to start.

What am I missing? we reallly want a miata eventually since our region is very competitive in this class.
Old 02-08-2012, 12:39 PM
Sidney004
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

That's a 23 year old car. There are a lot of parts that are worn out or on the verge of being worn out.
Old 02-08-2012, 12:40 PM
travisnd
Safety Car

Received 18 Likes on 10 Posts