Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Temps for HPDE

Old 02-15-2012, 06:49 PM
srproductions
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Oil Temps for HPDE

I've been doing a lot of reading here and on the other forum in preparation for my first HPDE in my 03 Z06. I've been doing track days and autocross for about 4 years now in other cars and it will be the first time taking the Z out.

I'm running a 2 day event with PCA at NJMP in March. My big concern is oil temperatures. I have read a numbers of threads about oil temps getting to the 280-310 range at track days without an oil cooler.

I'm not sure how many events I will be running this year but it won't be more then 4-5 so I am hesitant to invest in an oil cooler setup.

Would you guys suggest just sucking it up and getting something like an LPE setup for $600 or should I hold off and see how weekend goes?

My concern is having to cut sessions short because of high oil temps.
Old 02-15-2012, 07:38 PM
blueekb
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If you are in HPDE 1 or 2 (not sure what PCA levels are called) you'll probably have too much traffic to really get your temps up that high. If you do then just short shift or back off a lap or two and it will cool right down.

I also think March it might be cool enough to not worry about so much. 290+ temps only happen when you are running multiple laps "flat out" lol. Took me about a years worth of track days to get good enough with the car to see temps that high.
Old 02-15-2012, 07:41 PM
Jason
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7 Veteran