Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

oil temps for autox

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 08:39 AM
ap3x
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil temps for autox

Hi,

I'm new to my corvette, and new to a car with an oil temperature 'gauge'. I'm planning on autoxing the car starting next month, and had a question about proper oil temps...

It seems that while driving around the appropriate oil temps are between ~205 and 235, depending on the type of driving. First, I just want to check that this is normal.

Next question, whats the lowest acceptable oil temp level to start an autox run with? The oil seems to warm up VERY slowly at idle... my car just now has been running for around 3 minutes, and the oil was shown to only be at 88 degrees. This seems like it could be hard to get oil up to temp and have the engine ready for first runs at an autox. Can anybody give me input as to what temps its okay to start a run at, and how to easily get it there?

Thanks,
Jason
Old 03-18-2012, 08:55 AM
Vettechris996
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

My 02 Z06 sees oil temps as high as 250-260 on warm days hot lapping at autoX events, not nearly as high as some road race guys see but getting up there. Right around 200-220 on the street depending on the outside temp and how hard the car is being driven is normal.